Writing Prompt

If I knew then what I know now

Tammy Peterside
2 min readOct 6, 2021
Photo by Suzanne D. Williams on Unsplash

The writing prompt of the day is quite straightforward — write an entry beginning with the sentence “if I knew then what I know now”.This prompt is not intended to evoke regret but to inspire and encourage reflection.

Our past provides data points for better future predictions.

If I knew then what I know now,
I would take into consideration growth.
That winter and spring are necessary for the harvest.
that hard times will come and we will all need time in the dark soil
to reflect on our becoming
that sometimes this pain is just the birthing
of something larger than me. than us.
that maybe I would look at life through different lenses
Despite the withering leaves and cold tomorrows.
Despite the disappointments and mistakes
Despite the future starring at me in the face of lifelessness
Despite the surprises of the year

If I knew then what I know now
Maybe I would not be so surprised
I would have taken it in stride
I would have you by my side
I would have packed a little love…

--

--

Tammy Peterside

Data Enthusiast | Creative Storyteller | Mental Health Advocate